(when) You’re a winner, I’m a winner!

My Dad Says:

  • You’re doing GREAT! Really! Keep it up!
  • Define your space – then command it.
  • Focus on the positive aspects of the current reality, rather than the negative. 
  • Backbiting and negativism is pervasive, why not tune into the rare beauty of teamwork?

First things first: my Dad is very smart. I’ve urged him to come out of retirement to offer all of you fine folks a “Dial-a-Pep-Talk” service. He didn’t bite – so you’ll have to absorb it second-hand. Suffice to say, though, that if ever I need to hear that I’m okay, that I’m doing great, that I’m gonna blow the doors off….well, I know where to look.

Which brings me to the week I’ve just had. This week, senior leadership gathered at HQ (I just like writing that!) to do what sitcom after sitcom punts around when spotlighting Corporate America.

That’s right folks, we came to SYNERGIZE!

But before you  let your mind meander too far down the path of the zen of handshakefulness, know this: it’s been a hard couple of years. For all of us. We did – are still doing – more with less. We questioned our contributions, we felt overwhelmed, underappreciated, we lost good friends and colleagues in the name of efficiency improvements. And the hits keep on coming.

It’s been quite the bumpy ride. BUT….there are glimmers on the horizon. Truth be told, we’re kicking butt and taking names with the “sleek team” I represent. We’re all frustrated because all of  us – the survivors – who remain wish we could get to it all, could do our own pet projects when some times we’re simply keeping the motor running. But ultimately, we’re making it work while in the face of adversity.

This week, though, the message is clear: We can do it. We ARE doing it. We expect to be the best. We Believe.

In other words, they may have called my Dad. But I’ll vouch for the infectious positivity of having leadership that sets the course and that shares the message of hope and positivity as a culture.

This ain’t gibberish, it’s parenting. It’s leadership. It’s setting clear boundaries and clear expectations and a culture of teamwork from the top down. I hope the message makes it back to the home office. I know I’m walking in the door on Monday with renewed passion. I love what I do and I believe in infectious, aggressive positivity.

Here are my top 5 methods to spread positivity:

Set the standard: BE posititve. Smile and say Good Morning. Resist the temptation to fall into “venting sessions”. Not as easy as it sounds, you’ll be surpirsed how much of a shift this may entail. But make the shift happen – it’s magical!

Deep down, if you don’t believe it is possible (whatever your “it” is), step down or shut up.

Seek out the people in your organization who “can do” and who are interested in teamwork, and hang with them. You’ll move mountains.

Take a few minutes before checking voicemail, email, twitter, blog comments, facebook, etc. to visualize the successful achievement of your vision – or your team’s vision – at the start of each day. Really SEE it happening. This helps me to remember that the obstacles are most times just chatter that can (if I let them) steal my time and energy.

Remember your teammates. Thank them for great work. Actively work to understand how to help them do what they do better. Expect greatness and recognize their hard work.

So thanks, Dad. I am what I am today thanks to you. I’ve just heard presidents, CEOs, world-class marketing gurus share their wisdom for days, and your message remains (to me)  the most inspiring:

  • You’re doing GREAT! Really! Keep it up!
  • Define your space – then command it.
  • Focus on the positive aspects of the current reality, rather than the negative. 
  • Backbiting and negativism is pervasive, why not tune into the rare beauty of teamwork?
  • Why not, indeed! Go TEAM!

    Thanks, Dad!

     

    Leave a comment

    Filed under Corporate Culturati

    Leave a comment